logo
Weekly Auctions of Exceptional Items
Log In

Bidder Reviews for Boston Harbor Auctions (41)

4.4 out of 5.0 Stars
5 Star
80% (33)
4 Star
5% (2)
3 Star
5% (2)
2 Star
2% (1)
1 Star
7% (3)
trophy
Quick Responses

1-41 of 41 Reviews

Filter:
All Ratings
Sort:
Highest Rated
Harry
Middle Island, New York
Aug 11, 2021
Excellent Maritime Auction HouseTop quality maritime antiques and artifacts, highly recommended.
Report
SHIPS CHROMOMETER
John
Dedham, Massachusetts
Aug 09, 2021
COPPER AND BRASS ART DECO WINE COOLER
Jeff
Fenton, Michigan
Aug 08, 2021
USLH CONSTANT LEVEL LAMPS
Jeff
Fenton, Michigan
Aug 08, 2021
Great Auction HouseVery prompt, good communication, great protective and caring packaging of items.
Report
COPPER POST LANTERN B MARINE LANTERN
John
Lynn, Massachusetts
Aug 07, 2021
TSS CALEDENIA CANDLE HOLDERS
Rick
Whitinsville, Massachusetts
Mar 14, 2021
Not an antiqueNeglected to indicate that this item was a new reproductions. I would never have bid on it.
Report
Boston Harbor Auctions logo
Boston Harbor Auctions Jul 24, 2021
Dear Rick, It is unfortunate to read this after you neglected to pick this lot up for over 100 days. You were not charged storage. I hope the readers of your review might take the time to view your purchased lot, LOT 164 from our nov 21, 2020 auction. I believe anyone who views the pictures and observes the grime and patina will agree that your comment of the lot being a “NEW REPRODUCTION” is quite unfair. While I acknowledge the piece is not nineteenth century, zero claim was made by our firm about it being antique. Absolutely nothing in the description is misleading in any way. Rick, please view www. bbc. co. uk and punch in “grog tub” and you will see that these were being made until 1970 when the daily ration was discontinued. In closing I ask everyone to look at the photos and realize that this one star review is undeserved.
Alexander
Englewood, Colorado
Jan 19, 2021
Sean
Biddeford, Maine
Dec 12, 2020
John
Lynn, Massachusetts
Dec 12, 2020
they always have great thingslooking forward to their next auction
Report
Stephen
Newton, Massachusetts
Dec 12, 2020
Jeff
Fenton, Michigan
Jul 08, 2020
USLHS builders half model of  the U.S.L.H.TENDER
Patrick
Brick, New Jersey
May 22, 2020
Overall great experienceFriendly, helpful staff. Items as described. Will definitely do business with them again!
Report
27 Drawer Wood Chest
Robert
Palm Desert, California
May 16, 2020
PAIR OF INLAID MARQUETRY BOXES
Frank
Watertown, Massachusetts
May 16, 2020
Carved wood Figure of a Boy
Paul
Bridgeport, Connecticut
May 16, 2020
Great auction for model ships, maritime art, Etc. etc.They have a large showroom packed with all things maritime including over 50 model ships, and rooms full of art and maritime antiques. He’s been in business at least 25 year and is well trusted in the industry both locally and internationally. Hi online descriptions are very accurate. He’s a local man that is in the business for the long haul!
Report
Annie Bell Shadow Box
Pete
Dunedin, New Zealand
May 16, 2020
Poor contact with buyers.Contact is poor. They do not answer emails. A question I asked before the auction went unanswered; I bought the item regardless. I have sent several emails since, asking for a list of shipping options, no reply. Finally I phoned them. they said he would organise shipping. Three weeks later..... no word. Again my emails went unanswered. They really need to look at their customer service.
Report
Boston Harbor Auctions logo
Boston Harbor Auctions Nov 14, 2020
This clients query was answered on April ninth, Customer was informed the model had no fittings, had a lead keel, etc.. Shipping options are clearly stated in conditions. As most bidder know shipping is not the auction houses job. This bidder lives in New Zealend. We spent time quotin for the client the five and a half foot box overseas. Customer had us ship it to a California address for which we paid 240 dollars and have not been reimbursed.
HULL OF MODEL PLANK ON FRAME
Brian
Marathon, Florida
May 16, 2020
Long English Umbrella Stand
Kevin
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
May 16, 2020
Boston Harbor Auctions Sold Damaged ItemsBoston Harbor Auctions knowingly sold damaged items without accurate written description We are a deadly pandemic and in person viewing impossible, honest auction descriptions are more needed than ever.
Report
Boston Harbor Auctions logo
Boston Harbor Auctions Nov 14, 2020
The damage was visible in the photographs. This was pointed out to the buyer BEFORE he chose to try and file a FRAUDULENT claim against the UPS store. When I called the client about this his reply was “why am I getting involved?”
Pair of Wooden Game Boards
Brian
Marathon, Florida
Nov 30, 2019
JAKOB ISBRANDTSEN NAUTICAL LOT
Steve
Brewster, Massachusetts
Nov 30, 2019
Lot of four English Lifeboat Banks
Daniel
Hingham, Massachusetts
Nov 30, 2019
MODEL OF AN OCEAN GOING TUG
Paul
RYE, New York
Nov 30, 2019
CARVED LOUISBURG EAGLE
George
Bellport, New York
Aug 26, 2019
Nick
White Plains, New York
May 13, 2019
Very nice fellow to deal with-items as describedIts a nice place to buy from and nice items offered,
Report
Roger
Port Orchard, Washington
May 11, 2019
High quality antiques, hard to find items.Larry and Boston Harbor Auctions have been doing business for many years and have a fine reputation. The estimates for each item are usually right in line with the marketplace. Great after sale response.
Report
John
Silver Spring, Maryland
May 11, 2019
Daniel
Hingham, Massachusetts
May 11, 2019
Dominick
Minoa, New York
May 11, 2019
Anonymous
Oct 19, 2016
Anonymous
Oct 18, 2016
Should be mandatory that all lots in an auction have photos available for the online bidders. Otherwise these folks do a very good job.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 18, 2016
Anonymous
Oct 17, 2016
Poor customer communication took a claim file with Paypal to get thevto respond to my emails.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 17, 2016
very pleasant to work with. very boston!
Report
Anonymous
Oct 17, 2016
The auction description provided a shipping weight well below the actual weight. The shipping house recommended (UPS Store) provide a shipping estimate and doubled the amount after packaging. Way overpriced material costs and not easy to work with.
Report
Anonymous
Jun 09, 2016
The folks at the auction house were very helpful over the phone and their recommendations for the shippers was excellent. Looking forward to next auction.
Report
Anonymous
May 17, 2016
Anonymous
May 16, 2016
Boston Harbor auctions and their staff do a great job answering any and all questions before and after their auctions. I have worked with them on several occasions and they are professional, courteous, and a pleasure to work with. Keep up the great work!
Report
Anonymous
Feb 02, 2016
An honest auctioneer who describes the lots accurately and provides decent pictures. We are a regular customer and have always been pleased with our winning bids and after sale service.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 20, 2015
Great special interest focus on Maritime themed items.
Report
Anonymous
Oct 20, 2015
Anonymous
Oct 19, 2015
I won a small book. 8 "x 6" x 1-1/2 "thick. Instead of dropping it into a $3.50 mailing bag, it was picked up by a local shipping company. I was stupid enough to trust them to be honest. They charged $30 to pick up, $8 to insure it, and then contacted FedEx. After getting THEIR price, they marked THAT up, also. $30 more. Total = $68 to ship an 8oz book. The auction house owner said he would credit me half. He never did. Dishonest. Indifferent to best interests of the customer. Crooks. Liars. Can I say MORE.
Report
Boston Harbor Auctions logo
Boston Harbor Auctions Mar 28, 2019
i think you said quite enough sir. you never sent me the receipt from the ups store as i had asked you. we did in fact stop using the ups store in question. we are not crooks, dishonest, or liars for releasing your purchased lot to a shipper. if you send me your receipt i will be able to keep my word, even with the time passed
View:
50
iphoneandroidPhone
BACK TO TOP